HomeUncategorizedThe committee responsible for the future of the AFLW confirmed

The committee responsible for the future of the AFLW confirmed

The committee responsible for the future of the AFLW confirmed

The AFL have announced the committee members who will be responsible for steering the future of the women’s game.

A combination of players, coaches and administrators feature in the AFL Women’s Competition Committee, which will meet three times a year starting next month.

The committee has been set up to support the ongoing development of the NAB AFL Women’s competition and will consider topics including the laws of the game, tribunal, the draft, list rules and player movement, fixturing, talent programs and expansion.

Fremantle captain Kara Donnellan, Brisbane Lions player Lauren Arnell and Greater Western Sydney coach Alan McConnell were among the names confirmed by the AFL on Friday.

AFL Commissioner Simone Wilkie will chair the committee, which also includes the AFL’s general manager of football operations Steve Hocking and the league’s head of women’s football Nicole Livingstone.

“The committee represents a good mix of foundation, 2019 and 2020 clubs, a variety of roles performed within the industry, along with a geographical spread, ensuring ideal representation from our industry as we continue to develop the women’s league,” Livingstone said.

“As we prepare for our third AFLW season, this committee will play a critical role in developing the women’s game in a sustainable way, ensuring its future growth and prosperity.”

The AFLPA will be represented by general manager of player relations Brett Murphy and the AFL Commission will retain final decision-making authority on all matters.


Debbie Lee
Western Bulldogs women’s football general manager 

Laura Kane
North Melbourne football operations manager 

Mark Evans
Gold Coast CEO 

Peta Searle
St Kilda AFLW coach  

Todd Paterson
Melbourne AFLW list manager 

Phil Harper
Adelaide general manager football administration 

Lauren Arnell
Brisbane Lions player 

Kara Donnellan
Fremantle player 

Alan McConnell
Greater Western Sydney AFLW coach 

Cain Liddle
Carlton CEO

Brett Murphy
AFLPA general manager player relations 

Simone Wilkie
AFL Commissioner 

Steve Hocking
AFL general manager football operations 

Nicole Livingstone
AFL head of women’s football

Share With:
Rate This Article

Leave A Comment