HomeFree ArticleLatest NewsAustralia Crowned Host Of 2027 & 2029 Rugby World Cups

Australia Crowned Host Of 2027 & 2029 Rugby World Cups

Wallabies captain Michael Hooper and Wallaroos skipper Shannon Parry at Sydney Harbour Bridge

Australia Crowned Host Of 2027 & 2029 Rugby World Cups

The Sydney Harbour Bridge shone green and gold on Thursday night, celebrating Australia being crowned host for the 2027 (men’s) and 2029 (women’s) Rugby World Cups (RWC).

While it will be the third time Australia has hosted the men’s RWC, after co-hosting the first event in 1987, it is the first time the women’s RWC will be played on Australian soil.

Organisers of the event estimate that the dual tournaments are projected to generate $2.8 billion in direct and indirect expenditure to the economy.

They also predict that 14,000 new jobs will be made, stimulating more than $500 million in new trade and investment.

 Rugby Australia chairman, Hamish McLennan, said: “This is a historic day for rugby in Australia.”

“We’re beyond thrilled to be welcoming not one, but two Rugby World Cups to our shores. 

“It’s a game-changer for rugby in this country, a once in a generation opportunity to revitalise and secure the future of the sport here and see the game we all love to grow and thrive for years to come,” said Mclennan. 

Wallabies legend, Phil Kearns, also commented: “We are all committed to making the most of this golden opportunity.” 

“This is also a significant moment for our neighbours in the Pacific and we want it to be embraced and treated as a home World Cup by players and fans in the region.

“We look forward to working with our government partners and our colleagues at World Rugby and Oceania Rugby to deliver a legacy program that ensures this is achieved and the impact of the tournament extends into the Pacific region,” said Kearns. 

World Rugby also revealed England as the host of the 2025 women’s World Cup and the United States as the host of the 2031 (men’s) and 2033 (women’s) World Cups, stating that voting for all five tournaments was “unanimous.”

World Rugby chairman, Sir Bill Beaumont, said: “Today, we have approved three exceptional Rugby World Cup host nations – England, Australia and USA – providing unprecedented certainty and an unparalleled opportunity to accelerate the growth and impact of rugby globally.”

“It is great for rugby, for fans and for the host nations. 

“The confirmation of host locations is supported by a new partnership approach to event delivery, that will power long term, sustainable development, including in the USA and across the women’s game, enabling the sport to realise its global potential on and off the field, driving significant social and economic benefits for host nations.

“Today is a landmark moment for the sport and exciting development for fans.

“I would like to congratulate everyone involved in making this dream a reality as we look to deliver a truly global sport for all, “ said Beaumont. 

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.