HomeUncategorized5 Aussie sporting stars to be inducted into the NSW Hall of Champions

5 Aussie sporting stars to be inducted into the NSW Hall of Champions

5 Aussie sporting stars to be inducted into the NSW Hall of Champions

Five NSW sports greats will be inducted into the NSW Hall of Champions at the prestigious NSW Champions of Sport Ceremony at Rosehill Gardens on Tuesday, November 27.

Since 1979, 372 sportsmen and women representing 55 sports have been added to the Roll of Honour, with the awards celebrating the achievements of NSW athletes, coaches, administrators and organisations across 13 Award-winning categories.

As part of the Ceremony, the five NSW sporting greats to be inducted into the NSW Sports Hall of Champions are;

  • Catherine Cox (Netball)

With victories in Commonwealth Games, two Netball World Cups, three Commonwealth Bank and two Trans-Tasman Premierships, Catherine made her mark on the Australian netball scene.

  • Julie Dolan (Football)

A Matildas team member for 14 years, with 18 internationals, Julie is a pioneer of womens football in Australia.  Competing in the earliest national and international competitions, Julie dominated the game in this era.

  • Jana Pittman (Athletics)

Two World Championships and four Commonwealth Games gold medals have placed hurdler and 400m specialist Jana Pittman in the top echelon of Australian athletics history. Earning an IAAF Rising Star award early in her career, Jana is one of a select group of athletes to have won World Championships at Youth, Junior and Senior levels.

  • Melanie Roche (Softball)

One of the best softball pitchers in the world, Melanie Roche has earned the distinction of being only one of four Australian athletes in history to win a medal at four consecutive Summer Olympic Games. She was a crucial member of the Aussie Spirit team who won bronze medals at the Atlanta 1996, Sydney 2000 and Beijing 2008

  • Mark Skaife (Motor Racing)

The record books confirm Mark Skaife as one of the most successful drivers in Australian Touring Car/V8 Supercars history. With 22 years behind the wheel Skaife’s stellar career includes five Australian Touring Car Championships, six Bathurst 1000 victories, three Australian Drivers Championships, a record 90 race wins, 220 event starts and 89 podium finishes.

Sporting icons such as Sir Donald Bradman, Dawn Fraser, Shane Gould and Dally Messenger are included in this prestigious list. More recent champions include Ian Thorpe, Layne Beachley and Michael O’Loughlin.

Athletes are approved for induction by the Minister for Sport following nomination by the peak bodies of New South Wales sport and short-listed by the Hall of Champions Selection Committee.

Tickets to the Champions of Sport Ceremony are available at www.sportnsw.com.au

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.