HomeRugby League2020 NRL Season To Be Played Across Six Venues

2020 NRL Season To Be Played Across Six Venues

2020 NRL Season To Be Played Across Six Venues

The NRL has announced the 2020 NRL Telstra Premiership season will be played across six venues during ‘Phase 1’ of the competition restart on May 28.

With the official draw set to be released on Thursday, the six venues, Bankwest Stadium, Campbelltown Stadium, Central Coast Stadium, Suncorp Stadium, QCB Stadium, and AAMI Park will host the entirety of matches for at least rounds 3-9, with a review set to be conducted at a later date for the rest of the season.

NRL acting CEO, Andrew Abdo, said the strategy was designed to ensure all venues provide the safest possible environment for players and staff, based on the NRL’s strict biosecurity protocols.

“The competition will begin with a consolidated approach to venues,” Abdo said.

“Each venue requires customised infrastructure to meet our strict biosecurity requirements.

“We’ve adopted a phased approach for venues should restrictions be eased in the future.

“We’ve chosen three consolidated venues for clubs in and around Sydney to ensure there are no double headers at venues and in different parts of the region to meet the geographical challenges we face,” he said.

The NRL also released a structure for deciding the home teams for each venue, that sees up to five teams sharing a home venue during the seasons’ restart.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.