2 min read

Women’s Indian Premier League Announces Season Start


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a March start month for the first Women’s Indian Premier League (WIPL) season, which follows the World Cup in South Africa.

The tournament will run for a month and features five franchises, with current teams including the Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals, Chennai Super Kings, and Kolkata Knight Riders all expressing interest in launching a women’s side.

Discussing the future of women’s cricket in India, BBCI secretary, Jay Shah, said: “The quality of cricket one witnessed in Women’s T20 Challenge was truly remarkable with the best of Indian talent rubbing shoulders with the best in the world.”

“The future is certainly promising, and the next season will be much bigger,” Shah said.

Additionally, the BCCI is hoping to replicate the same methods that have made the men’s competition a financial success, which can be used to develop the WIPL profile around the world.

Tickets are now available for the fourth annual Women In Sport Summit, which will provide real stories, skills and career moves, from administrators to athletes, and will give a platform for honest conversations and exclusive networking opportunities, with game-changing discussions about the growth, value, and the future of women in sport.

Click here to buy your ticket or subscribe for a discount and help add to the momentum behind women’s sport.

It's free to join the team!

Join the most engaged community in the Sports Business World.

Get all the latest news, insights, data, education and event updates.