3 min read

SBS Secures Tour De France Broadcast Rights Through 2030


[mkdf_dropcaps type=”normal” color=”#f55549″ background_color=””]S[/mkdf_dropcaps]
BS has announced an extension of its exclusive broadcast rights deal to the Tour de France through to 2030, marking a 40-year partnership between SBS and organisers, Amaury Sport Organisation (A.S.O).

Under the continued agreement, SBS has multi-platform live coverage rights, including television and digital, with the broadcaster set to show over 300 hours of cycling each year including highlights and clips.

SBS managing director, James Taylor, said after 30 years of being the home to the Tour de France, SBS is “thrilled” to extend the partnership for another 10 years.

“SBS has been home to the Tour de France for 30 years,” Taylor said.

“We’re truly thrilled to extend our long-standing arrangement until 2030, which is a testament to the quality of our partnership with A.S.O.

“We are absolutely delighted that SBS will continue offering viewers world-class coverage of every minute of this incredible event for another 10 years.

“The Tour de France is one of the most prestigious events in the sporting calendar, combining a rich cultural experience with magnificent sporting achievements.

“The Tour’s popularity stretches beyond the world of cycling, bringing people together and contributing to social harmony – that’s what our Charter is all about,” he said.

A.S.O managing director Yann, Le Moënner, said as part of the new deal, SBS has also secured exclusive Australian broadcast rights to the Dakar Rally and Schneider Electric Paris Marathon, as well as added cycling events including the Paris Roubaix, La Vuelta, Fleche Wallonne, and Liege-Bastogne-Liege.

“We are proud to have in SBS a trusted and committed partner whose unwavering support has proven stronger than ever,” Moënner said.

“By 2030, end of the newly signed agreement, it will have been 40 editions since SBS has become the home of cycling, a tenure that has seen an ever-growing passion for our events Down Under, crowned by the victories of champions like Cadel Evans, Richie Porte, Mathew Hayman and Caleb Ewan while Toby Price went to win the Dakar Rally twice.

“On top of being accessible to all Australians for free, Le Tour de France, La Vuelta a España, Dakar Rally, Paris-Roubaix and many more events will benefit both from the proven exceptional editorial treatment from SBS and the most innovative digital tools to bring great storylines anytime, to all Australian generations on their preferred platform,” he said.

It's free to join the team!

Join the most engaged community in the Sports Business World.

Get all the latest news, insights, data, education and event updates.