HomeBroadcastRacing Victoria And Seven Announce Five-Year Broadcast Extension

Racing Victoria And Seven Announce Five-Year Broadcast Extension

Racing Victoria And Seven Announce Five-Year Broadcast Extension

[mkdf_dropcaps type=”normal” color=”#f55549″ background_color=””]R[/mkdf_dropcaps]
acing Victoria and the Seven Network have announced a five-year extension of their broadcast partnership for 21 feature days of Victorian thoroughbred racing each year.

The deal means Seven will have broadcast rights to Melbourne’s Spring Racing Carnival through to 2025, with Racing.com coverage to continue on Channel 78 with the continuation of the long-term partnership.

Seven West Media managing director and CEO, James Warburton, said the renewed deal exemplifies Seven’s commitment to sport.

“We welcome this important agreement with Racing Victoria,” Warburton said.

“It represents another opportunity for Seven to deliver Australian audiences premium sport, adding to our extensive portfolio of sports programming.

“I’d like to thank Racing Victoria for this significant and continuing partnership,” he said.

Racing Victoria CEO, Giles Thompson, said the long-standing partnership is a reflection of the strength of the sport in Australia.

“We’re delighted to announce a five-year extension of our broadcast agreement with Seven, who have and will continue to be wonderful supporters of thoroughbred racing,” Thompson said.

“This is a fantastic partnership and we’re excited to be working with the team at Seven to continue building that so that sporting and racing fans remain the winners, enjoying entertaining and informative broadcasts of Victorian racing.

“Most importantly this agreement underpins and strengthens the future of the industry-owned Racing.com and the pivotal role it plays in showcasing Victorian racing each and every day to the nation as Australia’s only 24/7 free-to-air sporting channel.

“This is wonderful news for racing fans and keen punters across Australia,” he said.

Seven Melbourne managing director and head of network sport, Lewis Martin, said he is excited to continue growing the sport of racing.

“Seven and Racing Victoria have been bound together for so long by our mutual love of thoroughbred racing and this new agreement is a demonstration of true partnership and the value of it,” Martin said.

“Together we remain committed to growing the sport of racing and ensuring its long-term health throughout Australia,” he said.

The 21 feature Saturday racedays to be broadcast on Seven in the 2020-21 racing season are as follows (with those numbered 1-10 conducted during Spring and 11-21 during Autumn):

  1. Memsie Stakes – Caulfield
  2. Feehan Stakes – The Valley
  3. Makybe Diva Stakes – Flemington
  4. Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes – Caulfield
  5. Underwood Stakes – Caulfield
  6. Turnbull Stakes – Flemington
  7. Caulfield Guineas – Caulfield
  8. Caulfield Cup – Caulfield
  9. Cox Plate – The Valley
  10. Zipping Classic – Sandown
  11. F. Orr Stakes – Caulfield
  12. Black Caviar Lightning Stakes – Flemington
  13. Blue Diamond Stakes – Caulfield
  14. Australian Guineas – Flemington
  15. Australian Cup – Flemington
  16. The All-Star Mile – The Valley
  17. Mornington Cup – Mornington
  18. Golden Mile – Bendigo
  19. Easter Cup – Caulfield
  20. Caulfield Autumn Raceday – Caulfield
  21. Victorian Owners & Breeders Raceday – Caulfield
Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.