HomeGovernmentAustralian Sports Commission Appoints Two New Board Members

Australian Sports Commission Appoints Two New Board Members

Australian Sports commission Dixie Marshall Craig Redman board

Australian Sports Commission Appoints Two New Board Members

The Australian Sports Commission (ASC) has announced the appointment of two new board members, Marketforce managing director and WA Football Commission commissioner, Dixie Marshall, and former Triathlon Australia national manager of high-performance pathways, Craig Redman.

The two new board members add a depth of media, event, sport, and communications experience to the board, bringing the board to a total of ten members.

Announcing the new additions, Australian Minister for Sport, Richard Colbeck, said the pair will boost the ASC’s impact in Australian sport with a focus of influencing the next generation of athletes and coaches.

“These new members will each bring a range of hugely valuable skills and experience to help the Sports Commission to achieve its mission,” Colbeck said.

“That is, to make Australia stronger through sport and to build sustainable winning systems for Australian athletes.

“I am delighted that Ms Marshall and Mr Redman will be joining the board as Australia heads into a very exciting ‘green and gold decade’ leading up to the Brisbane 2032 Olympics and Paralympics.

“Strong governance and a continued collaborative approach will support the ASC’s important role in the Australian sport sector.

“Through its leadership, services and programs the ASC will get more Australians active and engaged in sport, support our sport workforce which includes 3.1 million volunteers, and together with the sport sector bring through the next generation of athletes and coaches,” he said.

The board, which is chaired by Josephine Sukkar, includes a number of high profile former athletes, media professionals, and business executives, including deputy chair, Andrew Ireland, and board members Hugh Delahunty, Lynne Anderson, Kurt Fearnley, Dr Brendan Murphy, Patrick Farmer, and Amanda Laing.

The appointments come as the governance body for Australian sport sets it sights on the lead up to the Brisbane 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games, looking to solidify its governance structure and leave a positive lasting legacy on the region and on wider Australian sport.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.