HomeFootballA-League To Resume With 27 Matches In 28 Days

A-League To Resume With 27 Matches In 28 Days

A-League To Resume With 27 Matches In 28 Days

[mkdf_dropcaps type=”normal” color=”#f55549″ background_color=””]F[/mkdf_dropcaps]ootball Federation Australia (FFA) has released the schedule for the remainder of the Hyundai A-League 2019/20 season, with 27 matches set to be played in 28 days.

Starting on July 16, the A-League season will feature matches across Fox Sports, Sky Sport (New Zealand), ABC TV, Kayo Sports, and MyFootball Live App, before being followed by a five-game Hyundai A-League 2020 Finals Series.

FFA head of leagues, Greg O’Rourke, said he is looking forward to the return of the A-League after the COVID-19 pandemic forced the suspension of the season.

“Over the past three months all stakeholders have been working hard together with one goal in mind, to finish what we started,” O’Rourke said.

“We know the COVID-19 environment has been very difficult for many people in our community and we hope that delivering an extravaganza of matches will allow our fans to basically see a game every day, [it] will be a unique experience for those who have stood by us.

“As we are a truly national game, the current border controls means that some of the match day venues may need to change, however we have secured venues in both a NSW Hub model and a hybrid hub model which has most games in NSW but allows for a few games in other states.

“Whilst we don’t see the draw changing, the planning we have undertaken provides us with agility to shift between certain states if required.

“This version of the draw displays our current venue plan.

“We will continue to work with the Federal and State Governments to ensure the health and safety of our players, coaches, and other stakeholder and have detailed and practical protocols in place for all parties involved in training and match days.

“I am excited to see us kick off the restart and ultimately finish off what we started last October, with our priority always being to be in a position to crown our Hyundai A-League Premiers and Champions for this season,” he said.

The FFA announced the 27 matches will be played across five venues in NSW and one in Queensland, saying more venues could be added as the season begins and the ongoing COVID-19 restrictions across Australia develop further.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.