2 min read

NRL Announces Teams for 2025 Las Vegas Season Opener

image

The NRL has officially announced the four teams set to travel to Las Vegas for the 2025 season opener on Sunday the 2nd of March. This historic double-header event will feature the Canberra Raiders facing off against the New Zealand Warriors and the Penrith Panthers taking on the Cronulla Sharks.

Additionally, the UK Super League will be represented by a match between the Wigan Warriors and the Warrington Wolves, coached by Sam Burgess. The event will also showcase a women’s rugby league test match, where the Australian Jillaroos will compete against the England Women’s side, bringing some of the world’s best female players to the US audience.

NRL CEO Andrew Abdo emphasised the significance of the event, describing it as a “bigger, bolder, and better festival of rugby league.” The 2025 Las Vegas event will feature two highly anticipated NRL Premiership matches, the 2024 UK Challenge Cup finalists, and a women’s test match, creating a comprehensive rugby league showcase.

“We’ve given fans the opportunity to plan early and take advantage of the Las Vegas festival experience – a true bucket list item for all rugby league and sports fans,” said Abdo in a press release. He also thanked the participating teams, partners, and stakeholders, including the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority, Allegiant Stadium, and broadcast partners, for their collaboration in creating this unique event.

This will be the NRL’s second venture to Las Vegas, following a successful debut earlier this year with the Roosters, Broncos, Sea Eagles, and Rabbitohs. The league aims to introduce new teams to the US audience, with Penrith included due to renovations at their home stadium and the Raiders leveraging their namesake to attract local support.

The event schedule is as follows:

  • Super League: Wigan Warriors vs Warrington Wolves (1:30pm PST / 8:30am AEDT)
  • NRL: Canberra Raiders vs New Zealand Warriors (4:00pm PST / 11:00am AEDT)
  • Test Match: Australian Jillaroos vs England Women’s Team (6:00pm PST / 1:00pm AEDT)
  • NRL: Penrith Panthers vs Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks (8:30pm PST / 3:30pm AEDT)

This comprehensive festival promises to deliver a vibrant celebration of rugby league, engaging a global audience and expanding the sport’s reach.

It's free to join the team!

Join the most engaged community in the Sports Business World.

Get all the latest news, insights, data, education and event updates.