HomeFree ArticleLatest NewsFour New Teams Set To Join NRLW From 2023

Four New Teams Set To Join NRLW From 2023

nrlw rugby league womens abdo

Four New Teams Set To Join NRLW From 2023

The Australian Rugby League Commission (ARLC) has announced the approval of four new teams for the expanded NRLW competition from 2023.

The teams joining the competition include the Canberra Raiders, Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks, North Queensland Cowboys, and Wests Tigers, bringing the total number of teams in the competition to 10.

Revealing the news, ARLC chairman, Peter V’landys, said the growth of the women’s competition is promising with the four new teams to significantly boost the league in 2023.

“We have a blueprint for investing in the women’s game at all levels,” V’landys said.

“We have seen from with the quality of the 2021 NRLW Premiership and the tremendous growth in female participation that we have capacity for sustainable growth.

“The Commission have again demonstrated that the women’s game is a strategic priority.

“The quality of the club submissions was excellent.

“The Commission had always left the door open to expand to a 10-team competition based on the quality of the applicants, and we have seen that come through both in the success of the 2021 Premiership and the quality and applications made by clubs,” he said.

NRL CEO, Andrew Abdo, said: “Today is another exciting milestone in the growth of Women’s Premiership.”

“The Sharks and the Tigers have strong teams in the Harvey Norman NSW Women’s Premiership, and the Raiders and the Cowboys already have strong participation bases.

“We will continue to work with all NRL clubs on the plans for further expansion beyond 2023 and the right time for each club to potentially enter the NRLW Premiership,” Abdo said.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.