HomeCricketICC Women’s Cricket Cycle Announces Four Tournaments

ICC Women’s Cricket Cycle Announces Four Tournaments

ICC announces multiple womens tournament hosts

ICC Women’s Cricket Cycle Announces Four Tournaments

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced four women’s tournaments during the annual conference in Birmingham, spanning from 2024 to 2027.

Bangladesh is set to host the 2024 T20 World Cup, marking the second time the nation has held the event, with the tournament running from September to October and featuring 10 teams across 23 matches.

The 2025 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup will land in India for the fifth time, with the country hosting eight teams across 31 matches.

England will host its first Women’s T20 World Cup in 2026, where the tournament will expand to 12 nations, with a total of 33 games.

Commenting on hosting the T20 World Cup, ECB interim CEO, Claire Connor said: We’re absolutely delighted that we’ve been selected to host the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2026.”

“We saw back in 2017 how hosting the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup captured people’s imagination and I’ll never forget watching Heather Knight lift the trophy on that magical day at a sold-out Lord’s,” she said.

Finally, Sri Lanka is scheduled to host the 2027 ICC Women’s T20 Champions Trophy, however, the hosting rights are subject to Sri Lanka’s ability to qualify.

The event will also see six teams take to the field across 16 matches.

On the importance of hosting the Champions Trophy, Sri Lanka Cricket CEO, Ashley de Silva, said:“Sri Lanka cricket gives upmost importance to the growth of women’s cricket; hence we consider, being bestowed the honour of hosting ICC Women’s T20 Champions Trophy 2027.

Additionally, each announcement was made through a competitive bidding process, which was accepted by the ICC.

The conference also announced the election schedule of the ICC chairman, which is set to take place in November this year.

The news comes after NZ Cricket set equal pay standards for match fees for female athletes.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.