3 min read

ICC Reveals Hosts Of Next 10 International Men’s Tournaments


Following the close of the 2021 T20 World Cup in Dubai, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has revealed the hosts of the next 10 international men’s tournaments.

Starting with the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia, which also announced it would feature a total of 45 games in less than a month across Adelaide Oval, the Gabba, Kardinia Park in Geelong, Bellerive Oval in Hobart, Perth Stadium, the MCG, and the SCG.

Australia was originally slated to host the 2020 edition of the tournament, however that was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, with the 2022 edition to begin on 16 October next year.

Over the next 10 tournaments, are a number of co-hosted editions, including Australia and New Zealand co-hosting the 2028 T20 World Cup, and the US co-hosting the 2024 World Cup with the West Indies.

Over the next 10 events, India is set to host the most with four, including the co-hosting of the 2026 T20 World Cup with Sri Lanka, the sole hosting of the 2023 ODI World Cup, the co-hosting of the 2031 ODI World Cup with Bangladesh, and the sole hosting of the 2029 Champions Trophy.

Every other nation, excluding Afghanistan who have not been given the rights to host a single event over the period, will host no more than one international event.

ICC chair, Greg Barclay, said: “We are delighted to have concluded this competitive bidding process for the first time for ICC events.”

“To have 14 Members hosting eight events is a reflection of the truly global nature of our sport and I’d like to thank every member that submitted a bid and offer our congratulations to the successful bidders.

“It is fantastic to be returning to so many previous hosts, but what is really exciting about this process is the countries who will stage ICC events for the first time including the USA which is a strategic growth market for us.

“This gives us the opportunity to deepen our connection with fans in traditional cricket nations and also reach new fans around the world,” Barclay said.

The hosts were selected by a bidding process overseen by an ICC board sub-committee chaired by Martin Snedden and including Sourav Ganguly, and Ricky Skerritt, with a similar process to follow to name the hosts for ICC Women’s and U19s events for the next cycle.

The full list follows as below:

2022 – Australia – T20 World Cup

2023 – India – ODI World Cup

2024 – USA & West Indies – T20 World Cup

2025 – Pakistan – Champions Trophy

2026 – India & Sri Lanka – T20 World Cup

2027 – South Africa, Zimbabwe & Namibia – ODI World Cup

2028 – Australia & New Zealand – T20 World Cup

2029 – India – Champions Trophy

2030 – England, Ireland & Scotland – T20 World Cup

2031 – India & Bangladesh – ODI World Cup

It's free to join the team!

Join the most engaged community in the Sports Business World.

Get all the latest news, insights, data, education and event updates.